The Board of Directors 

Board of Directors

Frank Glossl Chairman

Michael Zalob Vice Chair

Susan Mason Carter Secretary

Don Loftin Treasurer

Nancie Giacalone    Scuttlebutt Editor

Ronnie Rhodes   Exec Committee Member-at-Large

Daryl Millard   Exec Committee Member-at-Large

Bruce Tingle   Exec Committee Member-at-Large

John Whitley Past Chair/Liaison to Commissioners

Dave Carpenter   Board Member

David Keefe    Board Member

Doug Kesling      Board Member

Mike Wortham    Board Member

Floy Hamilton      Board Member

Geoff Kirby    Board Member

Matthew Miller    Board Member

Ronald Henderson    Board Member

Patrick Cummings    Board Member

John Munn    Board Member

Tom Finley    Board Member

Jon Cook Board Member

The Board of Directors of the Friends of the Battleship NORTH CAROLINA serves as support to the Battleship by providing informed advice in areas of interest and expertise. This advice will assist staff in developing educational programs, interpretation, and events.

The result will be to attract more visitors, increase Friends memberships, and encourage community participation. Greater attendance will provide increased revenues (the Ship is self-supporting) to fund more programs, interpretation, and events attracting yet more visitors, etc.

Areas of Board expertise could include but not limited to Finance, Membership, Nominating, Marketing/Publicity, Naval Heritage, Tourism, and Education.

Expectations of Board Members

Join the Friends at a level of their choosing.

Attend meetings with regularity.

Promote, attend and assist with Battleship functions.

Promote the Friends by spreading the word about membership and events.

Provide sound advice in their fields of expertise.

Suggest ideas for, encourage, assist, or develop one major annual fund raising event.

If you are interested in becoming a Board Member, please email or call 910-251-5797 x2045.